MegaKerma / Silent Walk FPS Creator / Silent Walk: RENAISSANCE

Tools for creating 3D games
It is currently Fri Sep 25, 2020 9:29 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:14 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:52 am
Posts: 2411
Location: USA
ok I understand now. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:48 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:43 am
Posts: 1292
Location: No one knows...
This could be a new start for Sw1.1 i love the idea of SWCE Im working with it as well im trying to make it support model levels so people with 3ds or any other 3d modeler look out.
Also adding gravity changes so you can make puzzle shooters like portal

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:00 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Palm Bay, FL
I have a little question. I've been playing around with the source for this, I've added a few buttons and made a few minor changes here and there, so I decided to do something a little bigger. I noticed that the only things that could have their alpha changed were objects and doors, so I decided walls should have that privelege. What I did was rifled through the code for the doors and anything that had to do with it's alpha, I copied, and modified it to work for walls. I even got it so that you could change it by right clicking, just like doors.
I had a few problems with this. First of all, the alpha never kept it's value when I saved and reloaded the level. It always changed to 0, which made the walls invisible. I was able to change it in the editor and the walls were transparent, with a 50% opacity, like I specified with the right click menu. It just switched back to 0 when I reloaded the level. I could be missing some key piece of code that holds the alpha, but I'm pretty sure I got everything.

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
Try out my new Game Maker horror game!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:40 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 4:36 am
Posts: 300
Location: pgh, pa.
do you have to have the regestered version of GM6/7 to use the source code?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:45 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Yeah. I don't think it's a Game Maker related problem. I just think I may have missed some part of code that saves alpha values. I edited the Left Clicked event for the save icon to save the alpha but it doesn't work.

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
Try out my new Game Maker horror game!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:52 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
There is a little trick with the alpha value, since it must be between 0 and 1, this is Game Maker specific. But the problem is that we can't save a value like 0.75 or 0.13. We need to convert this to a "nice" value which can be saved using the standard save functions.

Save
1. Object's alpha: 0.68
2. Convert it to 68 (0.68 * 100)
3. Save the 68

Later when you load the value, you re-convert it to the original value:

Load
1. Load the 68
2. Convert it back 0.68 (68 / 100)
3. Apply it on the object


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:54 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:23 pm
Posts: 50
Location: South Africa
OK this would really rock my world if it worked??

I think I may be doing something wrong??

I followed Zoltan's instructions, renamed the robust thing, I even tried through notepad, and it says failed to compile scripts??

Please help??

_________________
New to the gaming Dev. World and loving it.

Testing out all the software I can find, and am very impressed with Silent walk...very easy...even whith it's limits you can do so much :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:23 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:36 pm
Posts: 999
Location: bangor, WALES
could u like up the graphics to SW2 standard??

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:05 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 1768
dragonflame wrote:
could u like up the graphics to SW2 standard??

He can't. SW1 was coded in Game Maker, software more geared towards 2D games and can't handle very advanced 3D graphics. You can try using the Ultimate 3D plugin (http://www.ultimate3d.net.tf/) but I'm not sure what other changes you'll have to make to make full use of it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:07 am 
Offline
Pun Master
Pun Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:46 am
Posts: 444
Location: Canada
I'm pretty sure you can, with DLLs. I've seen a couple games on YoyoGames website that had UT2004 quality graphics.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:13 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 1:52 am
Posts: 2411
Location: USA
I've heard of...
Ultimate3D
Irrlicht
Xtreme3D
And some other ones for Game Maker. The problem is you would have to rewrite the whole runtime.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:34 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 230
Location: just don't look back!
-I compiled the source code.
-I ran the program
-I started a new project
-I opened the project

- IT started to tilt ad would load an awfully long time....

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 12:12 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 374
Location: durango,CO
this program if friggin awesome!! who'da thunk it? lol..zoltan ur a friggin genius:) thanks man :D

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink

http://www.reverbnation.com/godfathermogz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:10 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:39 am
Posts: 289
Location: Somewhere in the Cheese state
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
Dies ist interessant

_________________
-Is attending 2013-
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:07 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:43 am
Posts: 1292
Location: No one knows...
racer13fly wrote:
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
Dies ist interessant


How so? They don't actually say that there will be a Linux version it simply states that they'll consider it.

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:34 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 2:21 am
Posts: 4
this awesome software! thank you Zoltan!
but, i can't make this working on gm8. please help me


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:11 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
What is the error message?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group