MegaKerma / Silent Walk FPS Creator / Silent Walk: RENAISSANCE

Tools for creating 3D games
It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 11:51 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:36 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Updates are based on your suggestions and bug reports. :)
I prefer suggestions... :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 908
Location: United Kingdom
Here's one nice suggestion, let us choose how quick the camera moves up and down when moving or running! ;) Haha

Loads of more suggestions for the future but for now I'd say get some bugs fixed and tweeked first.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:46 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
However there is no GUI for this, but you can fine tune this value using:

Code:
set_player_step_shake(1);


game function. Enter a different value instead of 1. The higher the value, the faster the movement. 2 means double speed.

would i put this string script in level start? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:47 pm 
Offline
Blender/ Gimp Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:10 am
Posts: 4679
Location: Blashyrkh
how possible is my soft spots suggestion? I really think it would make for more diverse enemies

_________________
Underground metal record label and distro I manage

www.Temptationsofresonance.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:49 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:36 pm
Posts: 999
Location: bangor, WALES
http://wiki.yoyogames.com/index.php/D3d_set_shading

?

Anyway, I think the soft spot idea is a good one. And how about Iron Sights?

Is it possible to change the scope/zoom image?

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:51 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 2:10 am
Posts: 5
..thank-you! Zoltan :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:03 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Fatmanpez wrote:
how possible is my soft spots suggestion? I really think it would make for more diverse enemies


The only way I can image is that you edit the spot in the level editor when placing the enemy. You will need to set the spot for each enemy.
I cannot extend the model editor for this, as the model data contains only vertex data.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:05 pm 
Offline
Blender/ Gimp Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:10 am
Posts: 4679
Location: Blashyrkh
I see, so not even like a separate collision box would work? if not thats fine, this is already coming along pretty awesome

_________________
Underground metal record label and distro I manage

www.Temptationsofresonance.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:05 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
ynyr wrote:
http://wiki.yoyogames.com/index.php/D3d_set_shading

?

Anyway, I think the soft spot idea is a good one. And how about Iron Sights?

Is it possible to change the scope/zoom image?


The set_shading function is already enabled. As for the iron sights, I'll change the weapon editor, so you can use your own image when zooming.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:04 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:48 am
Posts: 236
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Just found an email of this in my inbox! Looking fantastic mate! :D

I'm going to try it as soon as possible! :)

-Abdul Ahad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:07 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 908
Location: United Kingdom
I've seen your work with FPSC, I hope you can make some amazing things using SWR for us.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:37 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:48 am
Posts: 236
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Thanks Aydan!! :D

By the way check out my WIP with SW2 right now! Going to try to port it onto SWR if possible! Or I might do single player with SW2 and a multiplayer (if added) with SWR! :)

I hope life lets me work on engines such as this now! :D

-Abdul Ahad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:04 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:40 am
Posts: 2
how to add a model of Silent Block in the SMR ? :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:38 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
tiberiy0 wrote:
how to add a model of Silent Block in the SWR ? :roll:


Press the "models" combobox in SWR then press the ADD NEW... button, then select the Silent Block model from your directory. This will import it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:23 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
v.1.0.5 is out

Added some new features:
- Enemy hotspot handling (headshoot, boss fights, etc)
- Added customizable zoom image (iron sight)
- Fixed weapon change bug
- Fixed some GUI typo
- Added small GUI improvements

The Flash plane example contains a demo of the new hotspot feature.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:25 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 908
Location: United Kingdom
Awesome stuff!

One GUI idea maybe, depending, I preferred the older floor selection via buttons rather than a popup menu. That's just me though :) I'll get testing right away!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:29 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
You can also press the keys from 0-9 for quick floor change.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:48 am 
Offline
Blender/ Gimp Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:10 am
Posts: 4679
Location: Blashyrkh
this is great, thankyou

_________________
Underground metal record label and distro I manage

www.Temptationsofresonance.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:14 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 1189
Location: Rocking out.
Is there a script function to activate and deactivate lights? :D

_________________
"A toaster is just a death ray with a smaller power supply! As soon as I tap into the main reactors I will destroy you all!"
-The Toaster


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:50 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:40 am
Posts: 2
Silent Block stores in the format of the MCW ,SMR does not see the model of so called !?thank you for the excellent work of the designer!yet there is a mod but they, too, are not visible in the designer, which may be the cause.not always indicates the script may be so in windows 7 :(


Last edited by tiberiy0 on Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:39 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 1:13 pm
Posts: 2008
Location: Australia
Great update. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:06 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 374
Location: durango,CO
ahhhhh it's on n crackin again! ;) hehe...looks absolutely fantastic! and scripting language in GML? suhweeeeet!! totally diggin the web lay out too;) i love updates lol

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink

http://www.reverbnation.com/godfathermogz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:51 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 908
Location: United Kingdom
Some great things coming along for sure. Any chance of you making some new example games or scripts for features in there we don't know about yet? Such as the title screen systems, the moving items systems *To simulate physics such as boxes falling etc*


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:15 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:36 pm
Posts: 999
Location: bangor, WALES
Any idea when the new version is being released?
want to get my claws sunk into the smooth shading

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:44 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:25 am
Posts: 125
Looking good so far. Man it's good to return after a wile and see good progress. One or two suggestions/ questions.

- Are you planing to include other model support? Md2/Md3 and x would rock
- How does one exit the model editor <lol>
- Can the level made bigger?
- Will you make a bigger res release? The editor seems small on my laptop

Thanks and keep up the good work.
Is this a side project or will you be giving it frequent updates?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:46 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
There are some annoying glitches with the enemy projectile. However I can release it with the known issues and hopefully I can fix them in the following version.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:55 pm 
Offline
Graphics Artist
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:54 pm
Posts: 891
Location: The Netherlands
Zak wrote:
Looking good so far. Man it's good to return after a wile and see good progress. One or two suggestions/ questions.

- Are you planing to include other model support? Md2/Md3 and x would rock
- How does one exit the model editor <lol>
- Can the level made bigger?
- Will you make a bigger res release? The editor seems small on my laptop

Thanks and keep up the good work.
Is this a side project or will you be giving it frequent updates?


md2 is already supported, please read carefully :roll:
like always press end to exit model editor.
bigger? yeh why not it has a save feature now.
The editor is fine (what kind of mega screen do you got?)

Frequent updates :mrgreen:

Zoltan wrote:
There are some annoying glitches with the enemy projectile. However I can release it with the known issues and hopefully I can fix them in the following version.


I'd say release it :roll: then we can have fun with the smooth shading and all other updates/fixes

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
To contact me, send me a PM or goto my site.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:33 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
v1.0.6 has been released.

The enemy projectile still has some bugs, I try to fix it in the next version.

The smooth shading is fixed, however you need to re-import your models, as the bug broke the normals of the imported models. Just replace the model with the original OBJ file, and this time (hopefully) it won't brake the smooth normals.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:24 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 908
Location: United Kingdom
Cool stuff. I'll try this version out right away. I don't have any need for enemy projectiles so that feature holds no value for me. I look forward to seeing this smooth shading though. The old blocky shading was a little lame :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:00 am 
Offline
Blender/ Gimp Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:10 am
Posts: 4679
Location: Blashyrkh
how do I change to the new shading?

_________________
Underground metal record label and distro I manage

www.Temptationsofresonance.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group