MegaKerma / Silent Walk FPS Creator / Silent Walk: RENAISSANCE

Tools for creating 3D games
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:55 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 171 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:26 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Silent Walk Renaissance - RELEASE CANDIDATE

Main features:
- Rewritten Game Editor and Game Engine
- Improved enemy AI
- Added game scripting via GML
- Added multi-floors with built-in stairs creator
- Redesigned User Interface
- Added new Weapon Editor
- Added melee weapon handling
- Added weapon animations (attack and reload animation)
- Added pixel perfect shoot/attack hit handling
- Added lots of new game options
- Added lots of new player options
- Added lots of predefined game functions
- Added fully scriptable player HUD
- Added animated texture support (even on HUD)
- Supported model formats: MAN, GM model, OBJ
- Supported MD2 animations
- Supported texture formats: PNG, BMP, GIF, JPG, TGA, PCX
- Added 3D Particle System
- Added real Skybox
- Added built-in model editor

The evaluation and testing period is over, final product will be released 25th February.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:46 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:52 pm
Posts: 1080
Location: Massachusetts
Oh my god, Zoltan, you do not know how long I've been waiting for something like this! You're awesome!

e: Is this an upgraded SW1.1 engine or just the SW2 engine with the SW1.1 interface?

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:42 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
It is the rewritten SW1 engine with lots of new features :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:02 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:36 pm
Posts: 999
Location: bangor, WALES
epic... :D

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:39 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:52 pm
Posts: 1080
Location: Massachusetts
It looks really good, can paths still be made for enemies? As in, can that be implemented? Could a ramp/stair maker be implemented also?

Will intro videos/between level videos work this time?

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 908
Location: United Kingdom
You can already make stairs. Just right click on the map editor, make sure there's no objects there and you will see (create stairs). Just keep the default values and select which direction you want them to face.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:40 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 1189
Location: Rocking out.
So does this allow use of all of gamemakers scripting functions or just the functions you have listed?

_________________
"A toaster is just a death ray with a smaller power supply! As soon as I tap into the main reactors I will destroy you all!"
-The Toaster


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:22 pm 
Offline
music producer
music producer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 3:04 pm
Posts: 307
Location: ???
Wow, just...wow. Thanks a ton Zoltan! This is amazing. I absolutely love the new scripting feature, its definitely a nice addition. I was experimenting with some textures, I used 1024x1024 size textures, and it looks AMAZING. The animated texture support is really helpful... I hope to create something decent soon. :D

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink

I'm finally back... woo!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:48 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
I fixed the weapon inside-out bug :)
It draws the bug only if the weapon IS in the wall, but it looks beautiful in normal mode.

@thegreatgamecreator
No, you can use any GML :)

I am currently adding a 3D particle system...

Edit:
- also added the model rotation that was requested by Aydan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:58 pm 
Offline
Graphics Artist
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:54 pm
Posts: 891
Location: The Netherlands
Zoltan wrote:
I fixed the weapon inside-out bug :)
It draws the bug only if the weapon IS in the wall, but it looks beautiful in normal mode.

@thegreatgamecreator
No, you can use any GML :)

I am currently adding a 3D particle system...

Edit:
- also added the model rotation that was requested by Aydan



Ah no wonder my script wasn't working.
Thx zoltan, you are amazing.
Can Hardly wait for the particle update.

Cheers man :)

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
To contact me, send me a PM or goto my site.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:35 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:52 pm
Posts: 1080
Location: Massachusetts
This is exactly what the community needed. You've made my month and it's only the first! ahahahah

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:40 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
I forgot to mention, that I also added the delete texture, sound, model feature.
Now you can delete unnecessary resources from the data folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:42 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:10 pm
Posts: 908
Location: United Kingdom
Zoltan! I just noticed that you can rotate models in game by selecting them, then in quick view right clicking. I never realised because it seemed hidden and wasn't said but WOW! This makes my editing even better! I have a new demo ready for you soon. I need you to see the bugs I've reported. if you can fix the script problems with items/models as well as the graphical glitch when other models explode when destroyed I can get this sucker out for everyone to test! ;) It will show some interesting new ideas and how powerful this engine is now!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:57 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 2:28 am
Posts: 348
Location: Bandon, Oregon
I didn't know about that method of rotation. Thanks.

Marv

_________________
Registered SilentWalk2
Registered MegaKerma
Full Retrostica Application


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:09 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:39 am
Posts: 289
Location: Somewhere in the Cheese state
Oh sweet, we're still alive here! How about a port to Linux? :P :mrgreen:

EDIT:
Dat Nostalgia!
Image

Runs fine under Linux/Wine, by the way, although pretty slow.

_________________
-Is attending 2013-
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Last edited by racer13fly on Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:11 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 2:28 am
Posts: 348
Location: Bandon, Oregon
Not that alive.

Marv

_________________
Registered SilentWalk2
Registered MegaKerma
Full Retrostica Application


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:29 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:34 pm
Posts: 1189
Location: Rocking out.
I have a question zoltan. Are textures in silentwalk considered sprites? If so does that mean that I can treat imported textures as sprites when using GML functions and is there a certain way I would have to go about it to use them?

_________________
"A toaster is just a death ray with a smaller power supply! As soon as I tap into the main reactors I will destroy you all!"
-The Toaster


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:47 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
When you are in QuickView mode you can select/unselect the objects.
Then (from the next version) you are able to make modifications on the selected objects:

First you need to select the modification tool:
1. move the object
2. rotate object
3. resize collision box
4. move the model only
5. rotate the model only

1. This option moves the model + collision box together. Basically this is used for putting the object in the proper place.
2. This option rotates the model + collision box together. It is used for fine tuning the object's directions.
3. This option resizes the collision box of the object. The collision box is used for checking if the enemy/monster collides another object. This is not used for player shooting, as the shooting system is totally rewritten and pixel perfect.
4. This option moves only the model of the object, while the collision box stays in place. Sometimes the model is not centered, so you can shift the model from the center of the collsion box.
5. The option rotates only the model of the object, while the collision box stays in place. Again, if the model is not rotated to the ZERO direction then you can rotate it relative to its original direction. By pressing "V" you can view the ZERO direction of each model.

It might sound a bit hard to understand at first, but if you import the deafult SWAT model and try the 5 options, you'll see what I am talking about. :)

These are available from the next version.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:46 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
thegreatgamecreator wrote:
I have a question zoltan. Are textures in silentwalk considered sprites? If so does that mean that I can treat imported textures as sprites when using GML functions and is there a certain way I would have to go about it to use them?

Actually I was also thinking about it. I'll add the GM sprite import function in the next version.
Once the sprites are in the system you can use them as regular textures (or animated textures)

Aydan wrote:
One other quesiton, for the heald image HUD, can it support animated images? So you could have say a heart which beats next to your HP numbers?

Er...you can't do it now. I'll investigate the possibilities.

EDIT: Yes you can :)
I added a function which allows you to place any number of single or animated images on the HUD.
In level start script enter:
add_hud_image("imagename", 140, 35);
This puts the image at the specified coordinates. You can put several images at different positions.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:51 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:36 pm
Posts: 999
Location: bangor, WALES
The biggest thing SW2 has over this is support for animated models - as in bone animated models.
Could this be introduced into SWR?
I've got the feeling I know the answer already... but ye....

_________________
Image
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:14 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
UPDATE!
Released the new RC version.

Fixed lots of stuff + added new scripts:

add_hud_image("imagename", x, y);
Adds an image to the players HUD

set_player_invisible();
The player becomes invisible, so enemies and monsters can't see him.

set_player_visible();
The player becomes visible, so enemies and monsters can see him.

get_ammo("weaponame", bullets_num);
Adds ammo to the indicated weapon.

grab_light("lightname");
The player grabs the indicated light as a torch light.

release_light("lightname");
Players drops the indicated light.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:31 am 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:39 am
Posts: 289
Location: Somewhere in the Cheese state
So is the game scripting Lua? Or?

_________________
-Is attending 2013-
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:33 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
It is GML.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 1:14 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
The inside-out bug is fixed. The weapon is drawn properly, there is only one case when there a very small glitch. If the weapon IS in the wall, then it looks ugly a bit, but otherwise it is fine. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:32 pm 
Offline
Registered member
Registered member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:39 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Finland
SWR is really awesome, Zoltan! I can't wait to make some games with this! :mrgreen:
I have couple suggestions:

-Option to use .man model animations as weapon animations.
-Projectile weapons.
-Option for smooth 3d shading. Currently SWR seems to have flat shading turned on.

_________________
Visit my blog at: URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink, and leave a comment!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:51 pm 
Offline
Blender/ Gimp Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:10 am
Posts: 4679
Location: Blashyrkh
the first two are already there, projectiles must be scripted via gml. the second one is a gm issue i believe, due to its rendering engine, you could possibly convert the source to another rendering engine, ogre perhaps

_________________
Underground metal record label and distro I manage

www.Temptationsofresonance.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:34 pm 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
UPDATE!

- Lots of bugs fixed
- Added script function: remove_hud_image("imagename"); for removing hud image
- Added script function: health(amount); for adding medkit to player
- Changed script function get_ammo to ammo("weaponame", bulletnum); for picking up ammo
- Added new texture import: GMSPR format, now you can import any Game Maker sprite as texture (even animated ones)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:57 pm 
Offline
Graphics Artist
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:54 pm
Posts: 891
Location: The Netherlands
Great work zoltan :mrgreen:

Is there a possability to add: precise positioning to it? (change the snapping size of the editor option?)
also how is that 3D particle system coming along? :roll:

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
To contact me, send me a PM or goto my site.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:02 am 
Offline
Site Owner
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:27 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Budapest, Hungary
I'll add the precise positioning in the next version.

I am still working on the particle system. (I was busy with fixing the bugs first. Ask Aydan to stop reporting bugs... LOL :D )


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:19 am 
Offline
Graphics Artist
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:54 pm
Posts: 891
Location: The Netherlands
Zoltan wrote:
I'll add the precise positioning in the next version.

I am still working on the particle system. (I was busy with fixing the bugs first. Ask Aydan to stop reporting bugs... LOL :D )


ok awsome 8)
also what's with the new marzipan?
The old one on the fansite has way more options :| isnt that better to use?
it can import more model files and export more.

Isn't GM able to import .obj files too... instead of just .man?
perhaps a option to think about?
Correct me if im wrong but, wasn't SW1 able to import .obj files?

_________________
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
URL is hidden from guests, please register and login to view the hyperlink
To contact me, send me a PM or goto my site.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 171 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group